Human tea

Human tea

 

The second day has been pretty boring. Paperwork and stuff. But at the evening we had booked sauna again; this time for all first-year students and us. So we came, most of us were sufficiently stocked with beer.

At the beginning it was very sad party. Finns created a “tight” groups and have been talking quietly without much emotions. We were definitely the noisiest group. When one of us tried to go to Finns, they usually looked weird on us, or just simply ignored us. That’s why we stayed in our little group together. Occasionally someone came to us and began speak Finnish. Fortunately, none of the people run away when we answered in English, but they started a conversation. Initially quite nervously. Usually with lots of strange silence and when a person has tried to fill it, it was even weirder. Really better to say nothing (after all, we were recommended by the teachers themselves – an awkward silence among Finns is not awkward and do not try to fill it).

The more people trying the sauna, the less was mood so “tight”. No one of us got strange looks when we tried to blend with Finnish people. Then we went to the sauna too (we started feel cold). We just did not want to go there too soon. And certainly not to be there alone … it was pretty weird.

As the evening evolved, has been drank more beer and more people tried the sauna or the hot tub; the mood has become almost normal. Czech standard after two beers at a pub. Such classic. When some Finns started to be drunk enough it seemed like a normal party at the lake. With the difference; a sauna.

When we’ve got into it for the first time at the night, it was still very hot (against the previous day). The thermometer said something around 90 ° C. I guessed poorly for how long I can stay inside. I felt cold from the inside me, only the skin got warm and I’ve got an overheated head. So when leaving the sauna, I was actually quite worried that I pass out. It was obviously recognizable on me, although I didn’t admit it and went immediately to the water, where I cooled myself. I even got into water to my waist, but I had the feeling that my legs freeze.

Later I have been able to better estimate the temperature and length of stay (in addition, temperature dropped to some 80 ° C and that is bearable). I’ve finally found the courage to go into the water completely. When I saw the black water I didn’t had much confidence to go to swim only myself and now even the other Erasmus students found the courage to swim. So I’ve been a little swimming. And the feeling was … as if millions of needles stabbed me. One drunk Finn admitted that the water bite. I said that he is not drunk enough.

And such a little thing for my Czech friends; the first thing one needs to get used to is: all people are usually completely or almost naked. Women and men together. But as we were told, it depends on everyone. Ladies were often willing to drop only a bra (bikini). Most of them didn’t go into the sauna. Men usually walked completely naked; for the first time it was a bit of a shock for me. I have not been for many years on the nudist beach. I felt a little uncomfortable when I’ve been sitting on the lower bench and behind my head sat completely naked guy. And beside me too. Tip: it is better not to sit on the lower bench (I sat there, only when it was too hot and I did not want to go on upper bench).

We then added the hot tub, because there were some space (finally); at that time, it was not so hot. One minute we were sitting there almost in layers (16 people there). Tub was approximately for eight to ten people. At that time the Finns had enough sauna and were enough drunk, so they been sitting with us.

Then we started giving cans with last remains of beer. Occasionally someone got their hand near the water and perhaps even some water got into some of the cans. So maybe there was more water from the hot tub than beer. Then the most drunk (Finn) noted that he don’t want to taste the human tea.

At the same time, I quickly noticed that people here are saying English words oddly, it sometimes cannot be recognized which word is that. However, the problem is not only in a large number of consonants together, but even with the letter “š” (sh, sch). It cannot be pronounced by the vast majority. And I am accustomed to the inability to say “ch”, so I wasn’t surprised. But since I found “Mikaela” as a very strange name, I just get used to say my name as Ella and everyone’s ok with it.

Some have a very funny accent. Imagine Czenglish (English with a terribly hard Czech accent) and add to that a little Scottish accent, swallowing the wrong syllables, and it will be exactly the way how some of them speaks. It sounds … odd (and different). It is not the Czech accent, but it’s pretty close to that.

As a bonus, they have a lot louder and harder “r”. And since I’ve already tested the German “r” (I am not that bad as I was with trying to say that letter). I have to admit, I can speak with four different types of “r”; Czech, English, German (I still need practice) and Finnish (Only a little practice needed). And each one is different. If I include burr (I hope it is a good word), then there are five species of the same letter.

Because I think I will write a lot about the languages, so I will add to this day little mention of the aurora borealis. This day was weak geomagnetic storm, which make the auroras visible even in the south Finland. The night was clear most of the time. Unfortunately, trees killed any view to the horizon. When I checked images from meteo-cameras in Tampere, the aurora actually was, but very close to the horizon and not too strong. Even meteo-cameras in northern Finland recorded a weak glow (it was visible even live until 1 am at night). So I do not lose hope and I will continue to closely monitor the weather forecast and the aurora forecast.

Leave a Reply

