Tervetuloa

Dear Diary … (joke)

So we start again and better. I’m on semester in Finland. At first I thought that I can handle 3,5 months without the need to share my ideas, but there are too many of them, so I started the blog.

The aim is bilingualism, so we’ll see how I’ll can split it. Anyway, Google Translator and manual error correction are probably the quickest solution. Please be tolerant, my english is not really good.

Let’s begin from a start. In the Finland I’ve got by a plane. Before departure I read quite a lot about how Finns are “cold in their behaviour”, so I wasn’t surprised on the plane. In the Finland flew Russians, Czechs and Finns; not a charter flight. And I sat next to two Finns. For almost everything I apologized to them about 10x (because I asked for a place next the window and then lifted them for going to the toilet) and it simply because they all the time looked so … stone-like. Same as me, when I go to the bus and I do not want to be talking with anyone. Translation for normal Czech people; pissed and arrogant. Just neutral expression, or a little frowning for deterrence.

When our plane landed in Helsinki, I was relieved. Even while taking off at Ruzyně (for very young – Václav Havel’s International Airport) was a crosswind and I really felt it. But still better than any ultralight plane. During the journey was only a few weaker turbulence. Typically, when changing the frontal systems or only in places where two different air masses touched (for example, on the coast). A couple of small “falls”, nothing scary. It started to be worse, when we’ve got over Vantaa, below the clouds (about 2 km – that’s damn close to the ground). The south Finland was quite windy. For the first time in my life I was a little worried if we land okay because we “fell” about 500 m. And I really felt that and saw that – I’ve been little bit lifted off the seat – and it was a little scary. And it was not only one.

At the airport was something around 15 ° C, and finally I had a good feeling that I ran away from that unbelievable hot-hell, which I had around me all summer.

In the subway, I encountered the first problem. Ticket machine. I didn’t have enough courage to try buy a ticket there. Fortunately, there went security guy who was perhaps over two meters tall and even the men looked at him from below. Very kind person, and about half of the passengers used him as a walking information center. Including me. I asked where else I can buy a ticket, though not at the machine. When the train stopped, he directly led me into the car with the conductor. So I tried to get in, “festooned” with 20 kg and 26 kg in travel case. When the conductor saw me struggling with a suitcase, he was very kind and helped me with it in the train and out of it.

In Tikkurila was another little snag. I wanted to buy a ticket, so I had to get to the third floor and then back down. The problem: I wasn’t able to find lift, so I had to somehow cram on escalators. Totally exhausted, I crawled to the information centre to ask. Oh, there were so many people … and as a bonus, I had to take a ticket as in the office. I resigned and went to search. And I found. But again … ticket mashine. But there was any other choice, so I just tapped all that piles of letters which Finns calls the words, and went to the counter.

And I realized, the security guy in subway spoke very clearly. The man behind the counter…sad to say. I understood almost nothing and almost everything I forced him to repeat. Never more than twice… more I find a little bit odd.

When I entered the train, people stared so strangely on me. I have to admit, I looked like a Christmas tree. I’ve been wondering, where I have a reservation and where should I put all my baggage. According to what I read about Finns, they are willing to murder by look for any violating the rules … I desperately put all my luggage in the space for the disabled and disabled (for my apology, it was huge and with the addition of the second baby buggy, I immediately went to put in order my things for a more space). And surprisingly; new mother has been almost all the time smiling to me (and to everyone).

I sat down and felt strangely unwelcome in sterile and almost hostile environment. The conductor was smiling and happily chatted with everyone (except me). But I managed to “squeeze out” of him information, how many stops lays in front of me. He argued that the information is being announced. Luckily, I have received wanted information from him. It was the best because I understood only Riihimäki (from all the announces). Upon leaving, I still needed to ask exiting people.

They even offered me help with luggage etc. I probably looked really bad. Fortunately, I made it and I already haven’t needed take thing to anywhere. Tutor Jonna picked me up and we went for a few other people.

Just that night was sauna for newcomers. I welcomed the opportunity, even though I was quite tired. In the store I bought beer, so it was fine (they had Kozel – yaaaaay – mad price – saaaaaad). Apparently they drink Czech beer quite a lot (Litovel, Kozel, Krušovice, Pilsner Urquell). The local beer is such a bland.

Anyway, for the third time in my life I have been in the sauna. When the night temperature dropped to about 12 ° C, I welcomed sauna with open arms, because of course we all stood outside. I just hadn’t found the courage to bath after sunset in the lake/river (hard to say what it actually is – gulf?). The starry sky was amazing and the night was cloudless. Far away from any light pollution, school sauna in the middle of vegetation.

During the evening, they attended even some students. When arrived Belgian guy Gwenn, he immediately frantically rushed to meet each other. He rushed to tutor standing to my right, and he started to “kiss” her (kissing air – usually it IS the air ONLY). She looked a little scared. But he didn’t really introduce himself. When she announced herself as a tutor, he immediately began to apologize. Then he wanted to “pounce” on me, but I banned it.

There was a discussion like this:
“Are you a tutor too?”
“No.”
“Can I kiss you?”
“No.”
“It’s not that kissing.”
“I know.”
“So can I kiss you?”
“No.”

A little one-sided, I admit.

One thought on “Tervetuloa

Leave a Reply

